California Bail Costs
Bail in California is set by the California Department of Insurance, and mandated by law. The fee percentage is usually 10%, so in other words, if your bail is set at $10,000, then the fee would be $1,000.
Things to Remember:
- Bail bond companies as well as bail bonds agents have to be licensed in the state.
- This license is what permits them to help those in need of bond to be released from custody.
- Most companies will require the fee upfront.
- Any company or individual offering bonds for less than 10% of your bail are acting illegally.
- Be sure to check with the BBB before choosing a bondsman.
What is Collateral?
Sometimes, a bail bond agency will require collateral, which is an assurance that the defendant will keep all court dates. This might be cash or property. After the finalization of the case, this collateral is returned.
These are people who enter into the payment plan for a bail bond as a co-signer. Thus makes that person responsible for the defendant. This means they must be sure the defendant appears at court when required and that the bail is paid if the defendant does not pay it.
For assistance with bail bonds in California, contact us at 323-450-2385.